Second Treatise of Civil Government

by John Locke


John Locke

Chapter 1 Introduction

Chapter 2 Of the State of Nature

Chapter 3 Of the State of War

Chapter 4 Of Slavery

Chapter 5 Of Property

Chapter 6 Of Paternal Power

Chapter 7 Of Political or Civil Society

Chapter 8 Of the Beginning of Political Societies

Chapter 9 Of the Ends of Political Society and Government

Chapter 10 Of the Forms of a Common-wealth

Chapter 11 Of the Extent of the Legislative Power

Chapter 12 Of the Legislative, Executive, and Federative Power of the Common-wealth

Chapter 13 Of the Subordination of the Powers of the Common-wealth

Chapter 14 Of Prerogative

Chapter 15 Of Paternal, Political, and Despotical Power, Considered Together

Chapter 16 Of Conquest

Chapter 17 Of Usurpation

Chapter 18 Of Tyranny

Chapter 19 Of the Dissolution of Government